Archive | January 2011

Prize Giving 2010

Ayr Roads Cycling Club / Harry Fairbairn BMW celebrated their 2010 prize winners with a special function at the Abbotsford Hotel in Ayr on Friday night. British Track Champion John Mason presented the riders with their awards for great performances in 2010.  Among those recognised were Kenny Armstrong for setting a new club record over 10 miles with a 21:31, Markus Shields for fantastic results off road including 3rd in the Ben Nevis Half Ironman, and Chairman Blair Wyllie for his services to local cycling.

2010 marked the club’s 80th year and saw the introduction of several new faces.  Club members were involved in a wide variety of sport disciplines including road, time trial, mountain bike and track.  The club claimed a variety of European, British and Scottish Championship medals, including Vic Possee’s Bronze at the UCI Masters Track Championships in Portugal, John Mason’s Gold at the LVRC Track Championships in Newport and John Gemmell’s Bronze at the Scottish Mountain Bike Championships.

Paul Gibson and Robert Kelly both made significant progress on the road to support Kenny Armstrong, Mark Skilling and Craig Gilmour.   Ayr Roads were able to field a team at the gruelling Dundee 2 Day stage race at which Robert Kelly put in a great performance. James Mason put in some fine rides in Sportives, including the Fred Whitton and Etape Du Tour.

As well as racing the club also offered a programme of tours, including trips to the Isle of Whithorn, the Scottish Borders and the Highlands.  Club officials underwent training to become Cycle Trainers and Welfare Officers with a view to expanding the clubs appeal to youths.

The highlight of the year was the successful promotion of the 45th David Bell Memorial Road Race.  The event formed part of the national Super Six road race series, and was won by Endura professional Evan Oliphant.  Outgoing race organiser John Mason was commended for his fantastic work over the past four years.

Looking forward to 2011 Ayr Roads are delighted to have secured the continued support of Harry Fairbairn BMW.  The club will promote the 46th David Bell as round 4 of the Scottish Road Race series, and the Scottish Hill Climb Championships in 2011. The racers will be hoping to build on their great performances of 2010 while the club will also promote a calendar of rides to attract newcomers and young riders to the sport.

Full list of 2010 prize winners include:

  • Middle Distance BAR (10/25):        Robert Kelly
  • Butlins Junior Trophy:                      Gavin Kerr
  • Turnberry Circuit:                            Craig Gilmour
  • Hill Climb:                                       John-Paul Baxter
  • Davie Bell Road Race:                     Mark Skilling
  • Road Race Trophy:                          Kenny Armstrong
  • Tourist Trophy:                                Gordon Campbell
  • Veteran’s BAR (10/25):                  Alex McAllister
  • Mason Trophy for improved 25:      Robert Kelly
  • Ladies’ Trophy:                              Lynne Wardrop
  • Evening 10 series:                           Alex McAllister
  • Sportive Trophy:                            James Mason
  • Mountain Bike Trophy:                  Markus Shields
  • Provost Cup:                                 Blair Wyllie

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers